Riding/Hacking/Horse Share - Help Please!

1984mini

Sep 1, 2006
Farnborough, Hants
Hi :)

I am new to this forum, (sorry id I have posted this in the wrong forum.)

I am 22, I started riding lessons in Feb this year. Before that I had never been on a horse! I have weekly lessons at the moment & would love to gain extra riding, hacking. I can walk, trot, canter, but I have not done any jumping etc.
I have been looking through other websites, magazines etc but can't find a suitable horse to share. I am willing to help out with mucking out etc &/or make a small contribution.
This is a desperate plea, if anyone has a horse that I could help ride/look after please can you get in contact? As I'm not having any luck finding a horse:(

Many thanks
(I'm in Farnborough, Hampshire)

Hi :D i put an advert in the local freeads asking for a horse to share and 8 people rang! Now i ride spice 3 times a week and groom and muck out tommy, i really think you should try that

Hello and welcome:D

To be perfectly honest, I think most owners would look for more experience before offering their horse for loan/share. I know it's frustrating sometimes and you want more than just your weekly fix at a riding school, but I personally would prefer someone to have well over 1 year's experience, along with some evidence of them having done some kind of horsecare course before letting my girl go out on share.

I would suggest you carry on with your lessons for at least the winter, book as many hacks out on as many different horses as you can, and look into doing the BHS Horse Owners Certificate, or something similar and then look for something next summer maybe.

Hope this isn't discouraging you - please stick around - for a start you'll learn heaps here, and we're always keen to support and encourage new riders.:D