Question about loading horse in trailer (after long time not being loaded)

Scarlett 001

Sep 16, 2003
My horse was a school horse and loaded into trailers all the time before I got him to go to shows etc. No issues. I am not experienced at all with loading myself, so have a question and it may be naive. :eek:

When I first bought my horse he practically ran into the trailer on his own accord when I picked him up to take to his new home. First home did not work out, and he hopped again voluntarily into the trailer. He quite liked this next home where he was for several months, but when I moved him to my current barn, for the first time he was a difficult loader. We got him in, but with some effort (I had a very experienced horse trainer/rider doing the loading - maybe it took 5-10 minutes at most to get him in - he was resisting). Now he has been at his current barn for 2 years and has not gone anywhere in that time so no loading him into trailers.

I need to load him in a few weeks for a real journey (another very experienced trainer/friend will do the loading that day) and am wondering what to expect in terms of how readily he will load. I know no one can say for certain, but is it possible he could be difficult to load after all this time, or is loading like bicycle riding - once a horse does it readily, they tend *not* to lose the skill? What experiences have people had with loading after long breaks of no loading? As long as we eventually get him loaded, there will be no real rush time-wise and someone very experienced will be putting him in the trailer.

p.s. I don't think anyone I am friends with at my current barn has a trailer on the property to practice loading. If I can locate someone should I try to do this, or am I being overly concerned?