Professional schooling?

chriscross

Mar 15, 2000
uk
Visit site
Can anyone advise me about whether it is a good idea to send a horse to be professionally schooled/ Has anyone done it? Would it be an advantage to me to have the horse schooled as i am only a novice rider? All feedback appreciated.
Can anyone recommend anybody based in Hampshire England.;)

It really depends on you!
I thought about having my horse professionally schooled, but being a young horse owner and paying all the expenses myself I thought it would be eaiser for me to school my own horse, and she came out EXCELLENT!
Here are some things to concider:
Cons
*Dealing with baby horses means dealing with baby behavior: Bucking,shying at things that are new to it etc.
*Money! Professional training isn't always cheap
*Time! IT takes a lot of time to train your own horse!

A great reason for training your own horse is that you put a control panel on your horse hence you make your own buttons! If you want your horse to react a certain way to certain things you can train it to respond that way right from a baby!

There are definitly a lot of factors to think of! And if your only a novice rider it maybe best to get additional help!

Where in Hampshire are you? There is a very good training centre at Wellington Riding near Heckfield. Would be quite expensive but excellent tuition.

If you are a novice it is always worth having someone who can keep the horse's scholling up to scratch for you.

i used to take horses for professional schooling, and it's worth it if you are prepared to be involved and learn from it as well. i have a few horror stories of people with "difficult" horses who they sent to me, and because the problems were created by the rider, as soon as they left the problems came back. also people who had young horses, and expected them to go to me for 6 weeks and come back schoolmasters.