Possible bit issue?

Sasha15

Feb 28, 2015
hi,
I recently purchased a 5-6 year old QH mare. When I rode to try her out, she was in a curbed snaffle with a short shank and curb chain. She rode well, didn't throw her head, and had a great stop. She needs saddle time, but didn't have any stand out issues that made me think, woah don't buy this horse.
She wasn't the horse I was there to see, so they had to pull her out of her stall and I watched them tack up, etc so she wasn't drugged to my knowledge because they were expecting me to look at a different horse.
So I bought her an o ring snaffle to ride in because I've never used a "leverage" bit before. The snaffle is thicker than the shank bit she's used to. I also haven't used a curb chain.
She just doesn't seem to like it. She throws her head, doesn't like to turn, will still stop fine, but she will go a few paces and then just stop. Same with keeping her in a trot or canter. She will chew on it and mouth it when riding. She then went into circles and refused to woah for about 15 seconds. I didn't have this problem when I rode her before purchase.
She's a very sweet mare, ground manners are great, and hasn't been aggressive. Should I switch her back to a leverage bit? Is the bit the issue? I also haven't been lunging her because she doesn't seem to know how to lunge on a line and I don't have a round pen, but I have a small paddock I linge her in, but she always goes to the corners and stands, So I have to run her around. But she seemed better after I did this.
I don't have an issue putting more rides on her and getting her where she needs to be, but I want to make sure I'm not missing something and doing something she hates.
Any advice is appreciated.