Poor front feet

WDF

Jun 26, 2008
West Midlands
My mare's one front foot is tearing across where the nails are AGAIN :mad: . Ive been battling with her poor foot condition now for over two years, her wall WAS becoming stronger until all this wet weather PLUS my farrier has been on holiday so ive had to leave her for far longer than i would normally; i say long BUT for you it may be a short while, this will be the 7th week and generally HAVE to get her reshod every 5/6 weeks as
1 - we wear the nails/shoes down so they drop off
2 - her feet grow too fast

Anyway, farrier is back off his jollies and coming Thursday but sadly i think its too late and her one foot will be un-shoeable as by then im SURE the walls of her feet will have been ripped off :eek:

Tacking shoes off
Ive thought about this alot but never had the courage to do it as when mt mare's lost a shoe (always front) she becomes VERY sore and really struggles to walk across the cobbly tracks at the yard let alone go out hacking. She has predominantly white hoof which i believe isn't as strong as black so im not sure IF she could go unshod at all :confused:
Ive looked at many Hoof Boots but as with everything ALL have pros / cons & people have personal preferences; i like the look/sound of the "Marquis" boot as you can pump it full of air rather than tighten it to fit funny shaped feet but i don't know anyone thats had them.

This foot problem is REALLY getting me down now as i think its gone on for long enough and all my farrier says is "She just has a thin wall which makes shoeing difficult".

Im at a loss as to what to do next, continue having shoes on and nails repeatidly knocked in, taken out, knocked in, taken out 4 dosen times every time the farrier come - SURELY adding more holes to a poor wall will make things worse NOT better (my farrier tells me otherwise) OR get an DAEP to come out & take a look OR get a seconf opionion off another farrier . . . . . .