Pelhams!

noumenon

mad, Welsh and ginger
Aug 29, 2007
I've been advised by my RI to try our loan pony in a pelham. He can be very strong when he's in the mood although usually goes in an ordinary jointed snaffle, we just need some extra security should he decide to tank off on a hack or pleasure ride etc, which he is quite likely to do if he gets a bit above himself. I am also thinking of trying my own horse in one. She schools extremely well in a french link hanging cheek but is incredibly strong if she decides she'd like a gallop out in the open and as there are some pleasure rides coming up I'd like to have some brakes. As she pulls with her head down (ditto the pony) a dutch gag wouldn't be the answer. But which pelham? Straight or jointed? I have no experience of these bits whatsoever and wonder if horses that are used to jointed bits wouldn't go so well in a straight pelham? And then there are the rubber or vulcanite versions..... Feeling confused:confused:

I started Lucy in a mullen this year and will be changing to a ported once she's comfortable (only because it's smarter imo so no rush because I can't afford a new bit right now with all the vet bills!) ...

She took to it really well even though she's usually in a jointed snaffle. I based my choice on the fact that the pelham is quite a confusing bit: many contradicting actions that Lucy was not used to. I figured a joint would add a nucracker effect and thus another level of confusion!

Yes, that makes sense Soot - the part about the nutcracker action. I'll have a careful look round at what's available and will probably go with a mullen/ported rather than a jointed mouthpiece. Thanks.

I currently use a metal mullen mouth with double reins and elastic curb which is the combination I'd always try first.

I find the vulcanite can be quite thick so isn't suitable for a lot of horses.