Only partly in the cantering club..

newoldrider

Mar 4, 2011
Near Towcester
It's just over a year since I started riding (1 hour every few weeks - not enough really). The first two or three goes at cantering went OK - felt slow and smooth and not too scary (all on different ponies at RS) really enjoyed it and felt confident. The last couple of times (again on different ponies) the pony has taken off very fast, the ride so bouncy and bumpy I couldn't sit to it and felt unbalanced and very near to falling off (haven't fallen off since I was a kid). RI says I am leaning to the inside when I set off and this is bad.

Result - am now terrified of cantering again. I have a lesson tomorrow and nervous already!! Ridiculous.:furious: Any tips to start off a canter slower and if it does go fast and bumpy to sit it out in a way that minimises falling off risk? All thoughts gratefully received! Thanks all.

Sit tall, think long legs, and try your best to keep breathing :balanced: I found cantering nerve wracking for ages and still get a bit anxious about it. It might have been that particular pony's unfamiliar gait that unbalanced you and made you lean - depending on the pony you get tomorrow it might all come right again :happy: Above all - ask your RI to help you as that is what you are paying them for - having identified a fault they need to help you correct it.

Look forward to an update tomorrow :tongue:

Don't beat yourself up, for starters! I've been learning for about 18 months, regular lessons, and my cantering is still lousy :furious:. Best of luck for tomorrow, let us know how you get on.

I'm in a pretty similar situation to you, been learning for just over a year but lessons every other week only and am just beginning to learn canter.