ok, so am i stupid, selfish, both or none?

laceyfreckle

May 27, 2007
Essex/Suffolk
I am really down at the moment...here's soem of the reasoning.

I bought my mare about three months ago after having a break from riding (i last owned horses/ponies when i was 20 and i'm now 27. ) I had trouble finding a livery yard/grazing for her and eventually found one 5mins from my house which has no water or electricity or stabling but has a field shelter, other horses for company and a lot of grazing. My mare is a 19yr old welsh sec B with a slight dust allergy. Her livery is £15 a week

All sounds ok...BUT

I am also a mum to four children aged 8yrs, 5yrs, 23months and 10months. I also have a hard-working husband and i work part-time as a book keeper and part-time as a childminder (although atm have vacancies)

We are quite strapped for cash having four kids and having just bought a house which needs quite a lot of work (new kitchen/bathroom etc) big mortgage.

I did have a sharer for my pony who has suddenly turned round without notice and said she doesn't want to share any more as she doesn't have any confidence in my pony who has never actually done anything wrong, apart from sometimes trying it on slightly , planting feet unless strong leg aid etc. The yard where i keep the pony doesn't like a lot of new people round there so i'm unsure if they will let me get a new sharer especially as my old sharer seems to have got friendly with one of the other liveries so will 'still be popping down' which still feels a bit threatening to me. It seems a lot for me to see to a pony every day without asking to much of DH or the kids.

My 8yr old is riding my pony too as seems to be really interested.

Am i being fair on my kids and DH in me having a pony?
Should i really be spending so much time/money on what essentially is me?
How much do you all pay out roughly monthly on your pony?