Not sure where this should go

Billy

Jan 26, 2006
High Wycombe
I'm in a bit of a pickle really, could do with some advice! Although, I don't think anyone can really help. lol. It's more just for me to share!

In the last year or so I've felt a bit stuck with what I've got and not sure how to remedy this. I seem to both want to sell and not sell at the same time!

I've finally worked it out! I'm bored! (combined with being very attached to her).

She's a lovely little ride but not forward going enough, or enough of a challenge for me anymore. She's 17 and probably has a lot of work left in her, her health is good but she's had these previous lameness problems which makes doing more than hacking a bit tough (and selling her probably going to be tricky). While at the same time I'm really fond of her, she's a welsh cob so a very easy keeper and we're very strongly bonded.

The biggest problem is I don't want to sell and definitely can't get another horse while I'm still a student (mum would have a heart attack if I suggested it). As always money is an issue, so can't really afford lessons or riding in other ways.

Any suggestions on how to spice up the riding with her?!

... maybe I could give her amphetamines or something to liven her up?! (kidding... sort of)

Sorry this is a ramble, I'm just anxiously watching out the window to see when it's going to rain so I can dash to the yard and put the rug back on, so I'm a bit distracted!
xxx

What about trying Trec with her?

That wouldn't be too much hard work for her legs - bit like hacking with something extra to spice it up. I am doing a training day soon as I want to try it out. Looks like fun though.

What about loaning or getting a sharer? Then freeing up your time and some money to maybe take on another horse?