No longer have children at primary school,sad day!!

devonlass

May 20, 2006
devon
So the last of my 3 children left primary school today.Just left their leavers assembly and wasn't a dry eye in the house children or parents,even the teachers were balling!!

I have been trekking up the local primary school since 1996 with my 3 children (4-5 yr age gaps between mine),it is the end of an era.

Pointless post but here's to the friends me and my kids have made along the way,and hugs and a shoulder to any others on here on the emotional roller coaster this week!!

We have the leavers party this evening,more tears there I'm guessing:redface:

I have had my middle one leave secondary as well this year.That didn't make me feel sad though just old lol.

Ah yes, I remember that Devonlass, so sad as you realise that the child who leaves primary is leaving part of his or her childlike innocence behind. At High School, parents are just not involved to the same level, as they rightly begin the process of instilling independence and preparing them for the adult world.

Hope you enjoy tonight x

My little boy has his last day in Year R tomorrow. I can't believe how quickly the year has gone!

Enjoy tonight. One door shuts and another one opens (and all that....)

Ah yes, I remember that Devonlass, so sad as you realise that the child who leaves primary is leaving part of his or her childlike innocence behind. At High School, parents are just not involved to the same level, as they rightly begin the process of instilling independence and preparing them for the adult world.

Quite true,not only are parents much more involved at primary,but it is often a local school like our village one and just seems to have more of a sense of commumity than the bigger schools that are often miles away.

Will be so strange not to walk him up there every day,and sad not to see people on a daily basis anymore.