New Forest experts....show quality?

LokiSofi

Oct 11, 2003
New forest
For all you New forest experts please can you tell me if my yearling colt, Little Dave is show quality? He is very tiny (11hh something) and Odin is the first forester I've had in a long time and the first one I've ever shown and so I am still a novice at deciding what makes a good show forester and the show on Saturday just left me confused as every single one looked different in shape,size,build,head neck etc.:eek: So please can you tell me what you all think of Little Dave and if he'd do well in the show ring?

HPIM1929.jpg

HPIM1924.jpg

HPIM1925.jpg

HPIM1934.jpg

Not great pics but best I could get this morning.

his headcollar looks really tight in that pic I promise you it isn't I can fit a hand under noseband,jaw and poll. Though he will be onto a pony headcollar instead of a foal slip in next couple of weeks I reckon

I would think he would do well -gorgey pony!!-, though NF's aren't my fortay (even though i have one!! -mum got rather ****ed when i pulled her mane :rolleyes: lol)
There are some experts on here, they should be able to help :) xx

I would think he would do well -gorgey pony!!-, though NF's aren't my fortay (even though i have one!! -mum got rather ****ed when i pulled her mane :rolleyes: lol)
There are some experts on here, they should be able to help :) xx

thankyou. He looks completely different to Odin. New Forests seem to vary so much in their looks that I have no idea what is supposed to do well:eek::p

OHHH he is nice!!
I agree, take your 'newbie' to some local's and see how he does tbh. If the judges like him, they like him! lol
But i'm sure they will like him, cz he's so gorgey.
THe second one looks a bit closer in build to tinks.
Though I'm sure the top one will fill out and get a tad chunkier. :) xx

OHHH he is nice!!
I agree, take your 'newbie' to some local's and see how he does tbh. If the judges like him, they like him! lol