my boys changed!!

spannie

Jan 11, 2009
Ive been riding my boy for almost 2 years now and last week i started to have problems...out on a hack with 2 others we started to trot,my boy picked up speed to catch up ignoring my command to slow down,head right up trotting straight past at which felt like 50mph..hence now im schooling him with a martingale,others have ridden him since as well as me and said hes fighting them and point blank refuses to give in,and that he might be hard to stop whilst out therefore dangerous,any advice any1 please??:confused:

sure, i will mention a trick I learned when horse gets to fast, is to back up to the area where the "fight or disobedience" started.

Another thing I wanted to mention is if horse is adamant to go faster and be rude, a martingale will not help in the long run. Just like spurs and a harsher bit a horse can grow desensitized to it.

Lots of Horses at the back of a ride fear being 'left behind' so will rush
and not listen to keep up with the Horses in Front.

I certainly am 'no expert' but if I was in this position I would try a few things.

1. when hacking out with a few others, change the positions, i.e. ride him at the Front, then in the middle, then at the back, then in the middle etc. so that he is not always trying to play 'catch up'.

2. If its relatively new behaviour for him do all the usual checks, especially
teeth as it sounds as though he is trying to evade contact and there could be a genuine reason, so teeth, tack etc.

3. School him in areas that allow out on the hack, if you feel he is
getting 'strong' and space allows put in a few circles to get him listening
again.

IF all above fails then start looking at different tack/bits, but not until
the above has been checked out. IF this is 'totally' out of character then
I would say there is an underlying problem. Hope you get it sorted.:)