Modern ideas for an owld bat

sidesaddlelady1

Feb 25, 2005
As some of you may be aware I have been riding for 50-odd years. As a girl I was always taught NEVER to put cold water on a horse under ANY circumstances unless for medical reasons (eg cold hosing, compresses, etc) To put it mildly it was considered to be a hanging offence.

I now see hot, sweaty horses being cooled down with ice cold water straight from the hose both in heat-waves and when there's snow on the ground, and fight long and acrimonious battles with the girl who hunts the Wonder Horse - she wants to hose him down and I want him "thatched" under a rug or rugged up with a "string vest" under a light rug. (I usually win this argument!)

Anyone have any opinions on this? (Silly question - I'll be swamped with opinions!)

Cold water

Well, I'm new to the horse keeping / owning game, but I certainly wouldn't like to hose Joe down when he's hot and sweaty after work with a cold hose pipe! (Wouldn't like it myself either after I've been exercising! :D ) (I'll prob get bombared with posts telling me I'm wrong in a minute!!!)

Sitting on the fence!

I too was told to walk a horse in a cooler if it was hot and sweaty. I do use this method and it always works (if a bit time consuming). But the Animal Health Trust did some research into the horses used in Atlanta and how to cool them efficiently, and they found in favour of cold water. Here's the link if you want to read the article:
http://www.aht.org.uk/sci_randd_physio_accli_flu.html
Anyway, since reading that report I have sometimes used a bucket of cool water and a sponge to wash down my horse if she is sweaty and she seems to enjoy it! I haven't got as far as using ice cold water though... :)