Loan pony arena riding ideas!

Oscarboy

May 27, 2022
Yesterday at 7:27 PM
Hi,
i recently took a gorgeous skewbald pony on loan and am really enjoying him.i am 14 and go once a week.i was wondering however if anyone has any advice:
i've been riding for about 2 years and am confident in walk,trot and canter.i have not done any dressage/jumping whatsoever.I cannot afford lessons on top of my loan pony costs so i ride him myself without a teacher.however i am finding it really difficult in thinking up what to do each ride in the arena(.obviously this is not an issue when hacking out but i also ride in the arena).i looked it up online and all i got were results on 'schooling' your pony with complicated flatwork plans to improve the horses dressage,impulsion,suppleness,way of going etc.All these are way above my level.i can't school a horse never mind the fact that he is fully trained at 23 and doesn't need any training.So i want advice with what to do during my arena rides within my capabilities.i am very confident and happy to try new things -fear is not a factor ,it'd just ideas.
Thank you in advance!

Welcome to NR.

Even at 23 there is always a benefit to schooling, much like us, horses can get rusty if they don’t practice things they have learnt in the past, also keeping the older horse supple is important.

I understand you can’t afford lessons as well, they’re expensive! Perhaps you could print out some basic dressage tests for inspiration or get yourself a copy of 101 arena exercises by Cherry Hill (it’s a book) which I really like as the exercises are progressive and will help you learn.