Just recieved my bitless bridle, has anyone got any advice???

tbosborn

Jan 6, 2009
Essex
After asking yesterday if someone would kindly lend me there bitless bridle, i have now recieved it today! Kindly lent my 'caddiesmum' thankyou very very much:D

It is a be nice very similar to the Dr cooks. I have never used a bitless before so i was hoping someone could give me some pointers because im really hoping this will work for Meg!

So if anyone can help please or has some inspiring storys of how they have worked, it would be much appreciated??:)

Groundwork first to introduce your horse to the new cues:)

Lots of transitions when you first get on.

Don't ride on a constant contact as it will desensitize the pressure on the nose.

Leading work on the ground:) Go and stop touching the reins so the horse gets used to the tightening pressure around their face, as some horses do not like it,backing up etc. I suppose its more NH type groundwork:)

Leading work on the ground:) Go and stop touching the reins so the horse gets used to the tightening pressure around their face, as some horses do not like it,backing up etc. I suppose its more NH type groundwork:)

Ok thats great thanks:)

Is the steering alot more harder to master with a bitless? And im also so worried about being to heavy with my hands?

I do most of my steering from weight aids and neck reining so I don't have any problems, it might be worth teaching your horse to go from weight aids if they don't already as it saves having to pull the horses head around with the bitless, I only use my reins as a back up for brakes really, I mostly ride on a loose rein or the buckle:)

Long reining is good too to get them to recognise the different cues! :D

That way you can get the voice commands to go with it too and then that helps when you get on board.

Try somewhere nice and quiet, in field or school first.

I am still not brave enough to hack out in mine, but we will one day!