Is there still a nervous nellies club...

NVA

Jun 9, 2003
Visit site
...and if so can I join? I'm just getting back into riding regularly after time off for maternity and other things, and seem to have become even more of a bag of nerves than I used to be! Looking back over my posts from years ago, I used to have a real canter block and then got over it and loved it...now I seem to be heaps worse than I ever was. I started riding again on and off about a year ago and it was all going fine, but now it is going downhill. Cantering on a hack terrifies me since the horse bolted a few months ago, but now even cantering in the school scares me which hasn't happened for ages. It seems to have come on really quickly; a few months ago I was jumping and now I don't even like trot. I've started doing a BHS course at the local college one evening a week and am sitting here quaking at the thought that I have to go tonight. So I think I'm a proper nervous nelly and hope I've come to the right place...

Any ideas on finding lost confidence most welcome. Riding is the one thing I do "for myself" rather than being mum / employee / wife, and at the moment I'm just not enjoying it.

N

yes there is still a nervous nellie club :)

Riding is the one thing I do "for myself" rather than being mum / employee - same as me.

give yourself time, being a new mom is bound to be tough on the nerve front and who says you have to canter yet ;) you? give youself a nice safety zone to ride in just for pleasure, just things you feel comfortable doing, no rules you have to canter on a hack or round the school -OR trott - there are lots of fun things you can do in walk for a while :)

Oh yes, we still have a nervous nellies club :D

I keep forgetting that I am one though - until anyone mentions the word "jumping" and my mouth is already forming the words "Oooo I don't do that" before I've even thought about it! :p