Is it too early to take rugs off?

MaisieMoo

Oct 19, 2007
Question in the title really.

Caspers clip has almost grown back an don't know if I want to re clip as he's stabled at night now so if he's sweaty I'm just leaving a cooler on under his stable rug.

Also, I've never done a clip before and not sure if he'll tolerate me fumbling around with a set of clippers (he's only been clipped once in his life and he did not like it one bit!!!)

Still want to get the weight off him so was thinking that if I don't clip I'll leave him unrugged 3/4 times a week i.e. the day's I'm not planning to ride!

Is it still too cold?

Is it still too cold?

its still only january hun;) We usually get the worst weather between now and end of feb ive found? (feel free to correct me folks)

what about a lighterweight rug ?

I think I saw a photo of him earlier today, and I wouldn't hesitate to put him out without one! Especially as he is in at night so it would only be during the day? Our vet said that our Welsh D who isn't generally a good doer could take -30 degrees with her apron clip.
How much is he clipped? It's very mild here, apart from constant rain which is really what makes them miserable, they don't mind dry cold :)

i have reduced my rugs down as my horse was too hot but i would not take them away altogether. i leave him unrugged through the day if i am on the yard all day. if he is hot under his rugs and he has a few on i would remove one and see how he goes

I think I saw a photo of him earlier today, and I wouldn't hesitate to put him out without one! Especially as he is in at night so it would only be during the day? Our vet said that our Welsh D who isn't generally a good doer could take -30 degrees with her apron clip.
How much is he clipped? It's very mild here, apart from constant rain which is really what makes them miserable, they don't mind dry cold :)

Here's an up to date photo - you can't even see the clip - he has turned into a fuzzy bear!