I hate waiting games (the results are in)

Jessey

Dec 20, 2004
Suffolk, UK
I had Jess' bloods pulled this morning to re-test her ACTH and insulin, they reached the lab at about 11 and I should have an answer this afternoon, I'm glad they do it in house as it means I should have the answer this afternoon and I'm not good at waiting games.

On one hand I would love for it to be negative/very low so she doesn't need the drugs, but on the other hand if either are higher and drugs will get her past this plateau in her recovery I would be happy at this point :)

I understand how you feel about them being low or high...as high would maybe explain her on going battle with thrush etc...I also hate waiting on results..

Reactions: Jessey
Oh how I hate waiting, time just seems to stretch. I hope you've found a way to distract yourself and the results come through soon so at least you know where you stand...

I got Jack's latest results yesterday. 39 when it should be under 27. So not hugely over but gotta put him up to 1.5 Prascend and re-test in 2-3 months *sigh* He looks so bl@@dy well too.....

Well the results came through a couple of hours ago, ACTH 18.6 and insulin under 2, so all good there, I'm happy but questioning the original ppid diagnosis now a bit and really befuddled as to where to go next with it all o_O she is on chaste berry, perhaps I should withdraw that and retest to get a clearer positive/negative.
This vet also saw her in March and is going to speak to the vet at the horsepital and see if they can come up with any ideas between them on where to go next.

Reactions: domane
I got Jack's latest results yesterday. 39 when it should be under 27. So not hugely over but gotta put him up to 1.5 Prascend and re-test in 2-3 months *sigh* He looks so bl@@dy well too.....
Hopefully that means the little increase will have him feeling even better soon :D

@Jane&Ziggy ACTH under 29 would be normal for jess, I think under 20 is considered normal for the insulin.