I Feel Useless!

toohorsemad

Victor's Mummy
Oct 1, 2004
Ireland
I have been riding since october 2003 and I love riding and horses! And my dad is buying me my own pony for my birthday! I moved riding school about 2 months ago and my instuctor move me up on saturday so when I when for my new more advanced lesson I really got a shock! I was on Mash (which I wasn't really happy about!) and all of them were in 3rd year like me but they were really experienced unlike me! We did loads of stuff and when we just cantered around to warm up the horses and ponies, I went on the wrong leg! It just got worst from there! We did jumping next (not Mashs and my strong point!) and we did the most twisty course ever! Not only that but I seen loads of really big horses do the turns and get a clear round! When Mash and I did it we looked like fools! I really felt sick! A girl reasured me and said that Mash is a real handful but I knew she was just being nice cause her pony was taking off the whole time and she still got him to clear the course! I feel really crap! I really wanted to get to ride horses but I know I have to be able to handle ponies first! Does anyone have any advice or something to help cause I'm on a drowner! :(

Firstly, don't ever feel useless.. Because you aren't. Not everyone progresses at the same rate as others. Just because you are all in your thirdy year of riding does NOT mean you are necessarily all at the same level. I'm sure, if you had the time, you'd find that there is SOMETHING to do with horses that you do better than most of the others you ride with.