I cant ride!

Greyhorse

Sep 3, 2009
I am having real trouble and would love some advice.

Right the background. I had my first pony for 5 years, 3 of these I didnt ride (her arthritus) . She died 3 years ago and i rarely rode during the past 3 years.
I then got my current horse and he is lovely, but for some reason I have forgotten how to ride :eek: I havnt ridden him often due to lack of motivation, but have made a new resolution to ride daily since my last post and I have stuck to it! :p So I have been riding regulally for the past say 6 months or so and didnt ride regulally for 6 years ish. He was an impulse buy and if i had thought it through i would have taken up some lessons again, but he is my dream horse and was too good of an oppertunity to pass up.

With my first pony I always felt secure and had a good seat. I never had position problems or confidence problems. She was a big round cob, current horse is a little fine arab so big difference :eek:

Now these are the problems I am having can anyone help me please?

- I cant seem to keep my legs/heels in the right position. My feet slip through stirrups, I cant seem to stand up in the stirrups without falling back down and it unbalances me. Maybe it is my stirrup length, could they be too long or short? How can i keep my heels down and my leg secure!? I am fine in walk it is trot and canter when it happens.

- I cant seem to get used to current horses paces. He is incredibly bouncy and trots so fast I can barely keep up. I often get left behind and this again leads to balance problems for myself. I often find i am on the wrong diagonal or bounce twice because I am left behind and it cant be comfy for him. Same goes for canter, I feel as though I am bouncing hard on his back but I cant stand and canter. How can i get used to his paces as at the moment im bouncing allover and feel as though Im ruining him :(:(