How to find a good riding stables

JodieB

Dec 12, 2019
Hi Everyone,

I am a new rider in my mid 50's. I had a few lessons years ago in my 20's but it was such a long time ago I consider myself to be a complete beginner.

I would like some advice on what to look for when choosing a riding stables and instructor.

I have sampled 3 riding schools in my area and trying to decide which is going to be best for me. The first I had a half hour group lesson which I shared with two small children. I felt confident that a fair bit of time was spent checking the riding hat fitted properly. We then did some walking and a bit of trot holding on to the front of the saddle and the pony was led. Pony was held on dismount.

The second a slightly different experience with a much bigger riding school. Here I had a half hour shared lesson which involved a lot of talk about the safety, but no one checked riding hat we were just told to get a hat. A bit of walking and a small amount of trotting being led and again holding on to the front of the saddle. Horse held on dismount and given strict instructions on how to get off.

Third place, an hours group lesson, Hat selected for me and checked for fitting. The lesson was completely different. No being led. Walking around in circles and figure of 8s and changing direction. Quite a lot of trotting was told not to hold on to the saddle just try and "go for it". Pony held and instructed how to dismount. Was asked to lead the pony back and put in the stables. I quite liked this and have had another lesson here this time similar lesson, no help dismounting which was fine. However we were told to do rising trot of which I have a vague idea although not completely sure and then sitting trot of which I have no idea and there was no particular instruction.

So my question is, why is everywhere so different? Which is the best way or does not matter is it just what you prefer. Is it better to have some private lessons as well as group lessons?