How often do you disinfect your stable?

Mary Poppins

Oct 10, 2004
Visit site
I have some extra free time next weekend so i thought that I would disinfect Bens stable. I have never done this before and wondered if anyone can give any advice on which products to use and how often this should be done.

Virkon. We aim to do it once a year however because of our bedding system it's a big pain in the behind!

I use Jays fluid, minimum amount because it is strong. My stable needs doing now. So i will probably do this coming weekend. All old bedding will have been removed by then.
How often, that depends because she is cob so can get feather mites. So it is something i like to keep on top off. twice a year it will get a real good clean. Including walls, door etc.

I remove the matts and do a full wash once a year in the summer. I remove all the bedding April so it is just the matts down and the bedding does not go back in until Nov/Dec time before he comes in for winter.

BUT every saturday during winter I spray the floor with jays fluid that I pre mix and scrub the matting while the bed is banked up. I do bank my bed every day so the matts dry out in the winter but saturdays it gets a good scrub.

I don't, both stables drain really well and I sluice them down with the contents of the water bucket daily in Tess's case, keeps everything nice. Whenever I've lifted the mats in either stable there's been nothing to speak of underneath them.

I have never done mine! I don't like the smell of most disinfectants - no excuse I know! Tbh, I have never thought much about it - I tend to have a mahoosive dust and sweep out once in a blue moon.

I have a bit of OCD whehn it comes to my horses stable, i like the bed done a certain way etc. Plus she now has mats, but when we moved the stable was quite disgusting so i gave the mats and the floor a good clean, but will be doing it every summer.