How Much Does Horse Care Cost?

Alex786

Horse Enthusiast
Apr 11, 2022
California
Recently, I started riding horses as a hobby. So, I wanted to know the answer to this question.
I hope this is relevant to this topic
-feeder

Please don't tell me you've bought a horse without looking into costs first.

How much it costs depends on where you are, the level of care you're looking at, the horse, and so many other things. It's hard to cut costs below a certain level without compromising welfare, but even if you're very careful with your money a horse costs a lot to keep and you also need to be able to meet large unexpected bills from vets etc.

The standing joke of they cost everything including your soul contains a lot of truth!

A small fortune ;) There really are a lot of variables, where in the world you are, what level of livery and facilities you want, what you feed, if you have lessons or compete, but ball park average for south UK, probably £500 a month isn't far off for a horse on DIY livery (which means you do it yourself twice a day) having one lesson and doing one comp a month. You can do it for less if you have the know how, you can most definitely pay a lot more too.

Last edited:
Reactions: Huggy
It varies completely but as a rough guide it worked/works out for me as about the following on each livery option I've been on

DIY livery approximately £400-500
Assisted DIY £550-650
Part livery (7 day care but not including riding, grooming or tack cleaning) approximately £850 to over four figures a month

It depends on so many factors though. Size and type of horse, time of year, facilities of yard, what your interests are, horses dietary or management needs, how competitive you want to be.

I tend to spend more in the summer than I do in winter normally, too.

Last edited: