How important is it to have lessons?

Murphley Moo

Jun 5, 2009
Hiya - i have been having private lessons twice a week, but wondered how important having lessons is ? I know a few people who have never had a lesson - they are self taught and seem to do very well! I don't intend doing any shows or competetive work - just want to be a happy hacker !!!!! For the last 5 or 6 lessons i have had i seem to spend 45 minutes doing the same thing - trotting to circles, serpentines etc, sitting trot with no stirrups, and 10 minutes at the end cantering. My bank balance is going down and i don't seem to be moving any further forward!

Last edited:
I think they're important if you want to progress and also to make sure you're doing things right!! Its easy to think you've nailed something when you need tweaking to get it right!!

But if you only want to hack probably not so important. But even if you don't want to compete - still satisfying getting your horse to do something new! :D

I learnt from a friend (unqualified) when I was about 10 years old. I went on to have lessons for a couple of months, but they nothing for 10+ years! I have had my first two lessons for 10 ish years recently and both were fine.

I think you can do without! My riding is by no means perfect but we still do well at competitions etc :) x

I think as long as you have the basics of walk, trot canter and balance that is enough to get by on, hacking can be very beneficial and you can learn more than in a school as suddenly you have a need for all the work you have been doing.

Lessons can be taken up again at a later stage if you want to progress:)