How good/bad is your riding when trying out new horses?

RRA

Jan 30, 2008
Berkshire
I am currently looking for my first horse after riding for 20+ years. I have ridden a variety of 'types' since I was young and thought I was relatively competant and I'm not a nervous rider either. But since I have started going along to try out potential horses, and I am quite sensible about choosing the horses and asking the right questions from the owners before I arrange to see them, but have found once in that saddle my riding goes to pot I feel a complete novice and its just so embarrasing.

I guess that when I first meet the horse and it matches up to or exceeds expectations on the ground I hope that it will feel just right once I'm in the saddle and when it doesn't I blame myself for riding badly. I don't have a problem walking away if it isn't what the owner has advised - I am good at not letting my heart rule my head, too much at stake here!

Perhaps its the whole 'trial' scenario that puts me off, its like taking a driving test again with everyone watching! Its really starting to annoy me because if I had gone for a lesson/hack somewhere and they put me on something I'd never sat on before I would just get on with it and probably be absolutely fine.

I had been riding the same horse for the last 18 months until recently when she was sold but she is not like the type I want to buy (going from 14.2hh cobby type to 16hh + athletic type) so understandably they are quite different in the way they go although I have ridden the type I am looking for in the past on many occasions. I am not hurrying into this and am fully prepared to wait for the right one but this is starting to really bug me and knock my confidence.

How have you got on with this part of the buying process? any similar experiences? any hints or tips anyone??:confused:

I'm a whimp when it comes to others watching me ride.