How good a rider do you need to be to properly school a horse? Sorry - long!

bluntcrayon

Oct 21, 2009
Chelmsford
I class myself as a novice although I think I have made OK progress since I started riding again about 9 months ago. Have been sharing Harvey since Xmas and riding on average 3 times a week, and averaging about 1 lesson a month, practising 'homework' in between. RI seems pleased with how I'm doing and says my walk/trot work is good, have just started working on canter which is a different story (v lazy horse!) but RI thinks it will come on quickly like our trot work did - started off barely getting a decent trot and now have him reasonably off the leg and staying in trot without needing to nag.

Harvey is 8/9 years old, Claire bought him from a dealer 2/3 years ago and previously he had been in a trekking centre. She loaned him out to a local RS (where our RI worked, which is nice because she knows him and how to get the best from him) for a while. Not sure if anyone properly schooled him at the RS but apart from that time I don't think he's ever really been schooled. He knows the basics - go/go faster/slow down/stop, left/right - so we're working at about the same level :eek: he doesn't seem to understand leg aids in terms of turning/bending (eg if I go from A-C, drop rein contact and try to steer him with my legs he doesn't respond/our circles are more oblong/diamond - although I may not be asking correctly!) and I haven't tried anything more complex than that! And he doesn't work in an outline or 'on the bit' (as I understand it).