Hobbies/relaxation ideas

eventerbabe

Dec 16, 2004
I am getting cabin fever now I'm not physically mobile enough to do much more than lead/groom the horses. I'm not good at sitting doing nothing! I get bored with box sets of DVDs. I do read a lot but can't do that endlessly. I am doing pregnancy yoga but the workout I do at home is only 30 minutes. When I get bored, I stress about lots of silly things from what will happen at work when I'm on mat leave to baby coming early before I'm ready for it. I know stress can trigger premature labour so need a few easy, indoor hobbies as my pelvis can't cope with outdoor stuff! Any ideas?

Reactions: MrA
Get yourself a puzzle book. I'm useless at cross words and cryptic stuff but it keeps the brain working. I use to do them lots when I was younger but this computer technology and lifestyle means that I dont do them much now.

Swimming? As someone who's been used to being active it might be nice to maintain a bit of gentle exercise and get out of the house a bit. I swam practically up to giving birth, it was the only thing I could do that still felt fairly normal because the baby bump was supported by the water. I didn't have horses when I was having my children but can imagine that the challenge of just bending in the middle would severely hamper activities!

Are you a creative soul? I love to paint, I'm not great at it but for me it opens up a world of expression and is very relaxing.
If not how about making something, knit something for your baby? Or make some little gifts for birthdays/christmas whatever.

Paracord braiding is pretty easy once you get the hang of it, you can make all kinds of horsey things, halters, bridles, ropes/reins etc. Supplies are cheap and there's lots of videos on you tube to learn from :)

Reactions: eventerbabe
Mindfulness colouring for adults.
Taking photos of any that catches your attention.
Lose yourself in some music.

The obvious- come here and talk to us.