Historical Facts about where you live/the town you were born?

candyflosspot

bossy boots
Sep 7, 2010
Sheffield
I am currently studying Arts & Social Sciences at Uni at the moment and part of the module is a history section. We have been given a task to find out about the Sheffield Area which has proved to be very interesting indeed.

For example Mary Queen of Scots was held in Sheffield Manor Lodge/castle from 1570 until around 1585 where she was then moved (cant remember where too 0 maybe Shrewsbury?) . She used to write to the Duke Of Norfolk which he kep secret from elizabeth 1st.

Would love to hear of others historical facts about where they live/grew up? :smile:

Close to us is 16th century Ewarton Hall, where Anne Boleyn spent many happy childhood days. Legend has it that her heart is buried there.

Oh and I've just remembered, the riverside hamlet five minutes walk down the hill from me was either the setting for or inspiration of a lot of the Arthur Ransome books, particularly Swallows and Amazons.

My Gt Grandfather had a cutlery manufacturers in Sheffield.

The tiny Village where we live is a St, Ninian site, he is recorded as having visited the long gone chapel here and conducted some service, the only bit of the Kirk left is the stone font which is in the museum.

And just below where I used to live is an old disued ancient chapel that John Wesley was supposed to have frequented.

Although I now live in rural East Anglia, I have lived most of my life so far in East London....

Historic Facts about Leytonstone
For the most part, it's ****hole
....Alfred Hitchcock was born there as was David Beckham