Hi! Getting to know the horse you just bought???

Horseswillrule1

Nov 8, 2004
Australia
Hi!

I'm new to this section of NR, and I was wondering after you have bought and horse and brought it home how to bond with it? I mean should you start straight away like off the float and straight into the paddock? I am so lost. I owned a horse for 3 years and I had known the horse since I can remember! So I had all ready bonded with it.

Any ideas would be awsome!
Thanks,

Well that's a huge question- but very first thing I would do is attach a 12' line to a headcollar and go for a walk together all around the property where your horse will live. Groom, spend time, massage, TT if you do it. Tie the horse up near to you with some hay and do some jobs around the yard, keep going over for a chat and a scratch.
Good luck!

I would recommend having a bunch of carrots as well, and not riding on the day it arrives just hang out with it and feed lots of carrots and hugs.

It's also a good idea not to ride your horse every time you see him/her??? so occasionally make some together time for a walk, carrots and massage. even if it's just once a fortnight.

Spend a few days grooming and taking her for walks, she IS going to test the boundaries with you in the first two weeks so don't be put off by a test or two, just make sure you are firm and fair and get your own way.

Once she trusts you on the ground you will have a far, far better relationship once you climb on board. A lot of folk seem to overlook this, they seem to think ridden problems need to be sorted out while riding, setting the basis for a good riding horse starts on the ground.

If ew have nervous oungsters who maybe havn't been handled much I always spend a while with a brush just brushing them with another horse who is laid back. It's very good for them.

i have pinched a few of these ideas myself ;)
as i just got my first horse two months ago!