Help with jumping/2 point :S

Wicked

Jun 3, 2007
I really need some advice, and I kind of need it quickly since tomorrow I have my first jumping event. The thing I need help with is my 2 point. Since I started riding again, I've managed to pick up on how to do everything again rather quickly (1 month) except for my 2 point. For the first few lessons I was constantly having trouble with staying in the saddle. I only fell off once but I landed on my horses neck multiple times.

In my last lesson (Thursday) I FINALLY managed to get it right...and then yesterday when I was practicing by myself I couldn't do it. I again landed on the horses neck (thankfully only once this time), and found that when the horse landed I would jerk forward and would really have to use my legs to keep me in the saddle.

Now could this be caused by my stirrups not being the right length? On Thursday I did let someone else on my horse for a bit and since she has longer legs she needed to lengthen the stirrups and I'm not sure if I got them back at the right length. How would I know?

And could the landing on the horses neck be caused by me having crazy legs (my trainers term for when my legs slip back when going over a jump)?

Any advice would be greatly welcomed. I'll admit I've always had some difficulty understanding the 2 point so if there's anything you'd like to add about it please do!

PS. If I didn't explain something properly please tell me.

Now could this be caused by my stirrups not being the right length? On Thursday I did let someone else on my horse for a bit and since she has longer legs she needed to lengthen the stirrups and I'm not sure if I got them back at the right length. How would I know?