Help with Arthritis, Treeless Saddles and Stirrups

alfiesmum

Apr 4, 2009
Devon
Hi
I am new to NR but have looked at posts when researching before and have just joined up.

I am mid forties with Osteo and Rheumatoid Arthritis (RA just diagnosed) I have a beautiful young New Forest and want to keep riding. Has anyone else changed their riding style and tack to keep comfortable?

I ride in a lovely english VSD saddle (pony has big shoulders) but my knees, ankles etc are hurting!!

I am thinking about changing to a Barefoot Saddle, either Cherokee or Nevada and endurance stirrups to take the pressure off my joints?

Anyone done this before and has it worked?

Thanks

Hi there and welcome to NR. I ride my very wide cob in a Freeform treeless. I love this saddle but I find that I have problems with my hips. There is very little "twist" to most treeless saddles and they tend to force your hips apart. You may find this is a problem with your arthritis. The Freeform has more twist than most treeless but its still a bit hard going! I have had some amount of success using suber pad type inserts and a sheepskin seat saver. I would definately recommend that you trial any treeless you fancy before you buy. While they are incredibly comfy from a "bum" point of view:), they do have other issues.

As far as your knees and ankles go, I have similar problems and use Sprenger Bow Balance stirrups which have really helped.

Good luck with your hunt for the perfect saddle:D

I suspect I have arthritis (rheumatic diagonised when I was younger) and have problems with my hips and knees. I have just bought a Sensation and ride with easy tread stirrups which have a wide cushioned tread. My Sensation has a small twist bolster and I believe you can also get seatsavers for them. My daughter has 90 degree Sprenger System 4 stirrups and they are also good but I do find a wider tread is better for me.

Definitely trial any saddle you are thinking of :D.

Hi and welcome!