help !! horse size ?

caitlinhr

Aug 8, 2016
hi everyone, I've been looking at loans recently and I've found one I really like the look of !! the only problem is that he's 17.2hh and I'm only 5foot2.5 :// what do I do ? he's also only five y/o so I'm not sure if I'd be over-horsed, any advice ?? thank you.

You might look a bit small on him but it's how you feel that matters. What's his history? Does the owner think he'd be suitable for you?

I've been riding for ten years and I am quite used to riding strong horses after schooling a heavy draught horse that bolted towards jumps, I've just never ridden one that tall

Is it a full loan or part loan? Ie if it's one where the horse remains at current yard then I'd give it a go. My friend is around your height and has an 18.1h

he's on part loan, he looks very well mannered but that's only from the photo. would it be more difficult to ride him seeing as his only five or do you all not think age matters ?

I'm 5'4" and loaned a 17.2 when I was a teen, he was a teen also but his height never bothered me, I prefer smaller horses personally, just because its easier to get on and off :p The only way you will know is to try, the age is the thing more likely to overhorse anyone, a 5yo is very different to a pushey/strong/not perfectly behaved 8/10/12/15 year old, they can just be more unpredictable or not understand which can make riding them more of a challenge.

I'm 5ft 2 and slight built as well, and my last horse Sam was 16.2hh ID cobby cross type and I looked like a pea on a drum on him... but felt like I was in a huge safe armchair haha. He knew the drill as he was an ex huntmaster's horse and was around 18 years old when I started riding him properly when I outgrew my other horses.
I wouldn't have wanted much bigger than Sam...just general day to day tasks such as putting his rug on was harder with his size for me personally.