Help demoralised

SA rider

Oct 28, 2004
Cyprus
Visit site
I love my mare to bits, despite her horrendous biting habit, laziness, unpredictable bucking whenever she sees a jump, or if a horse leaves the school....
At the moment though she just seems so, well `dead'. I feel like I'm kicking her round the school, until she decides to suddenly shoot down the centre line, leaving me frantically trying to sort out my seat aids to slow her so that I don't have to whop her in the mouth.
I'm not a bad rider, I've been riding for 25 years in fact (only dressage for two and a half years though) but her behaviour can be so tiring and I end up feeling like a beginner - and a pretty hopeless one at that.
Mind you, funnily enough, two weeks ago we were going fabulously and I felt on top of the world.
I guess I just need someone to send me good karma - and maybe some tips - anything please to stop me sinking my teeth into the nearest wooden post.

Oh don't feel like that :( She is still young, and you have done great things with her. I don't have any tips for you cos I am crap anyway, just try not to get too stressed with her, she'll know :cool:
anything please to stop me sinking my teeth into the nearest wooden post.
You had better not be thinking of sinking your teeth into the school fence, I know someone who would be very very annoyed at you for that (and he is closer to you at the moment than he is to me ;))

Are you still hacking her out regulary? Maybe she is fed up of the school?

Tell us more, SA Rider .. .how old is the mare ? How long have you had her ? What is her name ? Where is a nice piccy of her ?