Hello!

Mcemma

Aug 14, 2022
Hi all,

So I’m new to all of this. I have always adored horses and been around them a lot as a youngster. One of my ‘friends’ at school had a pony and I was down the yard a lot around the ages 10-12 . I literally would do anything for little ride. I remember mucking out and poo picking. Endlessly grooming and following her everywhere and I loved every second of it. My friend gave me ‘lessons’ on her pony which always ending with me falling off and her saying that if I couldn’t do simple thingsI shouldn’t be riding. The long and short of it was she was a nasty little girl she always spooked the pony on purpose and took all the credit for everything I did. But I’m not bitter because I had THE best time with all the horses and pony’s in the yard. I got to have a couple of lessons at this yard and the owners let me take an old pony on hacks every now and again so I basically taught myself to walk trot and canter.

I then came across a Shetland and pony which was owned by a lovely lady who meant well but didn’t really have the time to care for him. I remember knocking on her door and asking her if I could groom Charlie. She agreed if I could catch him! A strong little bond formed and went to her house almost everyday and looked after the pony. He was a little bugger but I loved him like my own. Fast forward 20 years.

So I’ve gone on a few paid for hacks at my local riding school over the years and it’s always been a dream to eventually own. I’ve hit 40 this year, been suffering with my mental health of late so decided I would get into riding and do something for me. I’ve had a few riding sessions with a friend and she said she would help me look for a loan to start me off.

So I think Ive found the perfect match. A lady at the local yard is looking for someone to ride their horse two or three days a week while their daughter is at uni. I’ve met her this morning and we think we may go ahead.