Head tossing

Boofle bear

Jun 17, 2015
Hi and good morning, I am not sure I have wrote in the correct place but here goes!
My gelding has started to head toss when we are out on a ride, he is usually great for the first 20 mins or so but all of a sudden starts to put his head in the air and all I can here is his bit clanking on his teeth, I have a face full of horse spit yesterday, he has had his teeth done ( end of Jan this year) , I am thinking it's something I am doing or not doing ??? I am a novice rider and welcome any advice you much more experienced ladies and gents have to offer... Thanks in advance for you time and help..

Cant reply now as on train but meanwhile have you searched for this on previous threads? It is something most hackers need to deal with and I seem to remember threads on NR

Does he start doing if your riding out on a relaxed, loose rein. Or is it when you have him tight on the bit. What happens if you squeeze him on in the ride does he continue or stop.
I know his teeth were done but ciuld there be any wolf teeth hiding.
I know it might sound silly but does he flick his nose out at all like something has gone up his nose. I'm thinking of headshaking. This can come in different forms, some will throw there head up and down.

I am wondering head shaking , pollen allergy, have you tried a nose net?

My thouroughbred used to do the same, put a nose net and shes a different horse completely, so i go everywhere now with hers always on, not saying it is that but always worth a go before thinking the worst x

Is it certain rides? Try avoiding country roads with hedges, go a bit more urban if safe to and see if it stops.
Our lanes have just been cut, have yours?

Have you seen him do it unridden.