Hard feed what a shocker

OwnedbyChanter

With out my boys life would be bland
Apr 16, 2009
Raininghamshire
I know I go on about this all the time but it is something close to my heart.

I took my scales down to the yard yesterday as my new micronizeed (sp) linseed arrived and wanted to make sure I was feeding the right amount. Now I am an avid baker and am quite good at guessing the weight of food stuff and was secretly quite chuffed that when I weighed out what I thought was 100g was actually spot on.

So I thought I would weigh the recommended amount of the rest of the boys feed. Fu*k me that's a lot of food I would be bankrupt with fat and lively horses.

For info I feed Bailey's No 4 Top line conditioner both boys are in between light to medium work based on the packet. Light would be 2.8kg medium 5.5kg Have you ever weighed out that amount.

My stubbs scoop (weighed separately) takes 1Kg so I would need to feed at least 4 stubbs scoops a day. Plus the chaff of at least 2kg well chaff is pretty much weightless so can you imagine how many of them I would have to feed.

So that's about 10 stubbs scoops of feed per day, bear in mind you should only feed 2kg per feed they would need at least 3 feeds to get all that in.

At present they get 1 stubbs of chaff and half a stubb of baileys a day and they don't always finish that. Plus they look great and have enough energy to do they work required.

I do worry about were they get the information from about amount of feed horses.

Anyone else actually weighed there horses feed? or am I just sad.

Do i actually weigh my feed-yes most definitely. I like to know what she is getting and i have 3 different size scoops. I usually use the stubbs to keep my apples in. Hardly ever need to fill that up.
According to the bag she isn't in light work at all. 3times per week is resting! She isn't even being fed, an apple plus 2 carrots is all she has.