Getting back into riding...

luckycharm

Sep 12, 2020
I took a break from riding (it was a very short break, only five months.. allergies got in the way) and to some people, this may seem like nothing, but I'm SUUUPERRR forgetful! I've been riding for three years but I still have a hard time even keeping my heels down, Guess that's just how I'm wired ?‍♀️ Anyways, Any tips for when I get back into lessons ?? I'm restarting them but I'm super nervous, I haven't been around a horse in ages and scared I might do something stupid

carthorse

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jan 6, 2006
Seriously, five months is nothing and you're making yourself anxious for no reason. Everyone makes mistakes, yes even silly ones, but that's nothing to worry about. Horses haven't changed in that time, they haven't suddenly sprouted horns or grown fangs! And heels down isn't the gold standard of riding, in fact forcing them down can be counterproductive as the tension then forces you out of the saddle. So relax, be honest with your instructor, fuss the horses, don't fret too much about those heels (though not toes down please) and enjoy yourself, because enjoyment is what it's all about :)

Reactions: Skib

chunky monkey

May 2, 2007
Couldnt agree more. Dont wind yourself up.
I had a lesson this week, first one in ages. New instructor, never seen me ride before. I was getting tense the few days before, leading up to it. Thats who i am. Whilst the lesson was bad from the point it showed all my weeknesses. I could have cried, but its all things ive been told and explained before. It was actually extremely productive as its given me something to work on.
Its like riding a bike you never forget, just a little rusty to start with, but you soon remember.

Skib

Dec 21, 2003
London