Fheonix - comments on position please

annareeves0

Dec 18, 2007
Bournemouth, Dorset
cc041364.jpg

5b6b6647.jpg

c44c0f93.jpg

I have to say it's so different from my trec I wasn't sure the first day, jury still out yesterday - moved it back a little so it was more level as was feeling tipped forward and did a proper hack today and decided I love it! Once you get trotting or sitting to canter - that memory foam is great. I have a cossetted bottom! I am starting to feel more secure in it but boy did my hips ache after sitting 'properly' for a couple of hours!

Have you bought it, or are you just trying it out, Anna?

I'm no expert, but it looks to me as if it may be a bit far forward - it seems to be covering the line of her shoulder muscle. Also, on the first pic it looks as if it's higher in the front, but that could be because of the way she's standing or the angle of the pic - and I don't know if they're supposed to be level anyway ... It looks wonderfully comfy, though!

I would say it looks ok where it's placed, it looks slightly low in the pommel in teh first pic, but if you get a good fingers clearance I would leave it how it is, if you move it back any more it will drop even more at the front hitting the wither and potentially causing a problem, you could add more padding but it would make you feel further off her back and could make it laterally unstable which you don't want. The placement of it sits the girth straps in her girth groove and it doesn;t look up her neck so you may be ok with it if you have enough whither clearance. :)

Great that you are enjoying your new saddle. It sounds like you have got to grips with it quite quickly :D Don't worry the aches and pains should go away soon and your riding can only improve from sitting correctly and at least your bum should be nice and comfy :p

I think it could do with going back slightly more...

Not sure about the numnah?

From the EE Website:

What type of numnah or saddle cloth would you recommend?