Electric Fencing gurus?

Laura2184

Mar 1, 2005
Cheshire
www.cheshiretackroom.co.uk
I need to fence off a small paddock for my horse as he needs to lose weight.

I have never used electric fencing before so am basically clueless, please can somebody list all the items I need to purchase?

I know I need:

a battery (i'll be using a dry battery)
plastic fence posts (ill have 20)
energiser
fence tape
warning sign
plastic gate handle

:help:

If its only a small area why don't you use the energiser that are powered by 2 D cell batteries. I only tend to use an energiser with large leisure battery for bigger spaces. I would also recommend rope instead of tape as it doesn't flap around in the wind. Use 4ft posts instead of 3ft posts but again this would depend on the size of the horse you are trying to keep in.

Think that's it! Not used fencing off a battery before only mains though.

I do love putting up fencing though!

So do I!!! How weird are we...love mooching about doing a bit of fence re-arranging...always turn down offers of help..dont want to share the pleasure with anyone!:redface::giggle:

So do I!!! How weird are we...love mooching about doing a bit of fence re-arranging...always turn down offers of help..dont want to share the pleasure with anyone!:redface::giggle:

Come and sort mine!! (see the it was all going so well post!!)

Yes Danni, I read that and thought what a nightmare! Hope shes better soon.

Contrasna and Shockblue, fancy bobbing to Cheshire to sort mine out? :biggrin:

Innonence - It was a choice between the shrike energiser http://www.flytesofancy.co.uk/chickenhouses/Hotline_Shrike_Energiser.html and the Coral dry battery and energiser. The shrike will be easier to use.

My horse is 14'3 and doesnt do jumping so the smaller posts should keep him in and good point about the rope vs tape. Thanks!

I agree rope is much better than tape for standing up to wind.