Confidence Shattered

Drummie13

Sep 6, 2016
Hi all. Im 46yrs old... I started riding lessons apprx 18 mths ago after giving up lessons when I was a child aged 8 (major mistake). I got a foot back in though by just having a hack twice a year with my friend for apprx 7 years. but we both decided we wanted more than £25 for an hour walk trot through a wood/country park. So found a friendly established riding school. I was doing great on the school horses, although never had much confidence in my ability despite the instructor telling me I was a good rider (but hard on myself & perfectionist). She had me doing small jumps on a 16.2HH who was a tad grumpy & also on a mare who was very head strong. I handled both horses brilliantly & was so pleased & proud of myself. My only thing was I panicked if I lost a stirrup. I love horses so much I wanted to be around them more & more & I don't have the money to own one I'm not that blessed lol. I put an ad online to offer help with stable duties in exchange for tips on riding (not to loan or share horse) I know I must be mad working for free . In end my boss who has her own, got me a Welsh section C mare, to look after on a Sunday with 2 other 'green' horsies. So it ended up I looked after the 3 amigos & got to ride the MARE (Gemma) whenever I wanted.... happy days... or so I thought. She was an absolute NIGHTMARE! we only had her in the menage but she spooked at EVERYTHING I came off her just trotting around she spun I came off & unfortunately got dragged a little way & received a kick on my knee cap as she bolted I was distraught BUT ladies & germs I did get back on. But I was so scared. I carried on at my riding school as normal & tried to continue riding Gemma but she was so angry & nappy it wasn't a nice experience. I then had one lesson at the school where the 16HH fella had a grumpy day n stamped his feet etc. & I got scared & refused to carry on my lesson. Then 5 weeks ago I had last attempt at the farm & she threw a wob