Changing horse western to english?

BeachRiding

Aug 26, 2004
USA
Well, I really want to ride english, and my horse would be awesome at it. So, can I just put an english saddle on him and go? Or what do I do? I ride him bareback and western currently. He is 21 and has TONS of experience. Also, I am not experienced on english saddle fitting, so how do I judge on an english saddle for a high withered horse?

in short.. very carefully... I have always found english saddles harder to fit then western - and you have a rather challenging case to begin with.

And to just "ride english" you can just change saddles - if you want to compete or soemthing along those lines lessons are teh way to go to find some refinement :) but do bear in mind that the western idea of collection is VERY different from the english one. and Willie may resist all the contact on his mouth if that isn't what he is used to.

Otherwise have fun :)

WillieLove

http://lorienstable.com/book/

the e-book version is not going to break the bank ;)

I took my wholly western mare into dressage as well. She's made the transfer quite well.

I did things like lunge and long rein in the saddle - like a mini restart - so she had a chance to get used to the different feel.

Thanks both of you! Guess I can't do it if english will be harder to fit! I have the worst time with western fitting!