Canter troubles!

An_Riz

May 20, 2017
Hi everyone!

So I have been riding for about 2 months now and began cantering 2 weeks ago. I'm getting used to the movement of it and find it really fun! Some things I struggle with that hopefully people can help solve:

1 - Steering the horse becomes an issue as I want to give him enough reins to move his head and stretch out slightly but don't want to have the reins loose enough that I need to stretch my arms out/lose contact? How should reins be held in canter (both in arena and when out on canter trails)?

2- My hands tend to bounce around, and therefore so do the reins, and I fear this is sending the horse mixed messages? Again this begs the question how do I need to keep my hands and reins in order to have control but also moving nicely with the horse/not blocking his movement?

LASTLY (sorry it's long I know) 3 - I have read and heard so many different things regarding gripping with the legs in canter. Some say you absolutely must grip in order to stay on, others say that gripping too much will make you tense and more likely to lose balance with the horse's movements. Any tips?

Thanks guys I hope this isn't too confusing!!!

Instructors teach riding in different ways and different styles. Cantering sitting in the saddle after only 6 weeks learning is pretty quick progress. It helps with safety as you wont fall off if the horse spooks and canters. But having still hands when riding depends on your balance and steadiness in the saddle -something you havent yet learned in 6 weeks. You need to learn this isn trot and probably on the lunge before cantering.
In both trot and canter one can steady ones hands by placing them just in front of the saddle resting either side of the neck of the horse, but take care the reaching your hands forward doesnt cause your body to tip forward too. You need to balance with your weight on your your seat bones.