can i join the cc - i need a good talking to!

sophie33

Aug 8, 2004
London
Or maybe just some positive encouragement!
I am a novice, and have always been quite nervous. However, I have weekly lessons and have been getting steadily more relaxed (and my riding is improving).
However, I also look after an old tb one day a week. When I first looked after him he was rideable. And despite being a wuss I regularly rode him in the school and even hacked him out on my own...
Then he was too lame to be ridden for well over a year...
And now he is okay to do walk hacks again and can trot and even canter in the school. Who knows how long it will last. But his owner is kindly really encouraging me to take advantage of his new found soundness. And I am really scared! Ridiculous - I ride much better now than when I rode him before. I have ridden him in the school and on short hacks but only with his owner there to help me! Today she shamed me when I couldn't get him trotting forward by getting on in her skirt and sorting him out :redface:
And then when we were coming back down from the school the dog starting barking (he doesn't like dogs) and she had to get hold of him for me :redface:
I don't know why I'm being so weedy - He has never really done anything when I've ridden him but when you first get on him he feels like he is about to explode - neck right up, eyes on stalks, all prancy. He gradually settles down but I find that first bit really hard to deal with.
So my plan is:
a) always turn him out before riding (he hadn't been turned out today)
b) ask RM to stay with me while I get on him and get him settled but then ride on my own in the school
c) Work up to hacking him out with RM on her horse (he is much calmer in company)
However, telling all of you this plan to try and stop me chickening out and not riding when his owner doesn't literally put me on the horse!!