Can anyone advise?

I am a novice. About three months ago we purchased a lovely Gypsy cob. She has the most super temperament, follows me around the paddock and stable area and is generally very affectionate and eager to please. She is excellent on the lunge, responding quickly to voice commands to change from walk to trot to canter and stand.

She is an ex riding school horse and from the first day she arrived we were suspicious that at sometime in her past she has been badly treated. She cringed at the sight of a whip and was very head shy, problems we are steadily resolving. However, we have a difficulty with her ridden work which I'm finding difficult to understand and deal with. She kicks out very strongly when I use leg aids, even when I give so much as a gentle squeeze. It is worse on one side that the other, it is almost as though she is trying to kick my leg away from her body.

We've had her checked by the farrier, dentist and vet and no one can find an obvious problem. I can push her side quite firmly without getting a reaction, this behaviour only happens when I'm in the saddle.

I'm running out of ideas! Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

wendy

Sounds a bit like a mare with ovarian problems although presumably your vet has scanned and discounted this?

All I can suggest trying is voice aids and very little leg to start with. Is it possible she has had more driving than riding experience, I have often found cobs who have been driven to be extraordinarliy resposive to leg.

I'd have your vet check her over again with this behaviour in mind. Some herbal remedies may well help, such as Global Herbs Friskymare Plus: http://www.globalherbs.co.uk/horse/2004_pages/calmers.htm#FriskyMarePlus

What does an experienced rider(s) think of her behaviour, such as your riding instructor or yard owner? Does she seem uncomfy when you touch certain areas of her body whilst grooming as well as riding?