breathing problem

horsehelp

Banned
Jun 2, 2004
In another world
www.horsehelp.co.uk
im having a problem with my NFX penny.
i have recently found out she is allergic to hay/straw,
durinmg this she has had 6 weeks out ofgwork.
i have just slowly brought her back to work.
Evertime i ask her to canter or trot she yanks her head down to the floor, i dont know weather she is biend naughty or wether its its to do with her breathing.
can any one help please?!
x
mel

Hmmm...

That could be naughtiness; that could be a problem with the bit, saddle, or contact.

But it also could be something else. I'm having the same symptoms with my Duchess when I ask for a transition to a faster gait, and I also know exactly what the problem is: loss of muscle. I have not ridden her since last November (in December I hurt my back). I started riding again recently, and Duchess has completely lost her topline. She has a low-set neck and a very heavy shoulder; in comparison she has almost no haunches, and when she moves she naturally is very heavy on the forehand. I had built up her back so that she could carry herself through trnasitions, but it's all gone.

Now, under saddle or when turned out, to make a transition she "throws" herself into it head first. She has to lunge forward and down to get into a trot or canter--much more so for canter. It feels very like a buck (unfortunately for my delicate, recovering back). I have been lunging her and working on balanced, on-the-bit movement under saddle. I will not be asking for a canter again until she's got some more topline, because I am not strong enough to "help" her through the transition--and I don't need to be sitting something that isn't-but-feels-like a buck.

Right. It sounds like your mare may have some balancing issues since she was off work for so long. It'll take rebuilding the muscle along her topline before she can handle a transition.