Best size horse? or shouldn't it matter??

Moonrider

Apr 12, 2009
Derbyshire
Hi,

I've been riding for about 4 months now and have ridden 4 different horses. The first horse was massive (not sure what size but would guess at least 17hh), but a complete plodder who i only rode for first 2 lessons. Then i was put on a 15.1hh horse, who i began to learn cantering on. Unfortunately he was sold, but the next horse i rode i absolutely fell in love with and really enjoy riding her - she too was approx 15.1hh (these are guesstimates lol).

I have really learnt alot on her and felt good cantering etc. but she has now gone lame, so last lesson i was on yet another horse, who i would say was about 16.1hh. I felt like she was really strong and pulling on the reins the whole time, then when she started cantering it felt so powerful and fast i promptly fell off!! :D

I was wondering if she is just too big for me? I'm only 5 ft 2" and quite petite, so should i be on a less powerful horse? The RI said that she was the next step up for me, which i can understand. i am looking forward to riding her again, but am feeling wary of cantering - which i'm so annoyed about because i was feeling so confident before!

Any tips for riding bigger horses that have bigger strides? Apparently she wasn't going any faster just covering more ground - felt faster to me though!!

If you're still reading thanks and any advice or suggestions appreciated :)

Size really isn't the issue - find a horse that is well balanced and responsive to the aids - it will make it much easier to learn on - when your riding is becoming second nature then you can move onto more difficult and less balanced horses and know how to get the best out of them.

I don't think size should necessarily matter. Even a 14HH pony that's strong and pulls is always going to win a battle of strength.

Hope you find one that suits.