Another treeless thread - sorry!

chestnut-mare

Mar 29, 2005
Edinburgh
I'm sorry to start another treeless thread but I only joined the forum today! I have purchased a Barefoot Cheyenne and I love it - feel more secure,safer and of course comfortable but...... am having problems deciding which accessories to use. I've had to buy some safety stirrups as I wasnt happy with the fact that the bar for the stirrup leathers is solid. I cant buy the single strap dressage leathers because the bar is solid. Which leathers have other members used? I cant buy the ones from the website as they are too long. Then I've got the girth and saddle pad dilemma. I've read a physiology expert that you shouldnt use a very thick pad under treeless saddles. I want one that will not make my horse sweaty. I've no experience with dressage girths and need one that will not rub my somewhat sensitive mare. Would love to hear from other treeless riders what they are using?

Actually, sweat is not that bad for your horse...he *should* sweat if he's working hard. A horse that doesn't sweat under conditions where he should be sweating always alarms me.

Natural materials (100% wool, cotton, sheepskin) will do the best job of absorbing/dissipating both the sweat and the heat from the back muscles.

Is there any reason that you can't just use regular stirrup leathers? Or are you trying to avoid bulk? Since you've got safety stirrups, it shouldn't make a difference that the stirrup leathers will be firmly attached, right?

What sorts of girths have you used with success before? Some horses have a real preference; my sensitive-skinned mare absolutely hates neoprene, but some sensitive-skinned horses love it. I'd suggest natural materials, again--plain cotton tube or string girths, leather, or sheepskin padded leather. But some horses really do like the neoprene, so...it's up to her, really ;)