Am I being unreasonable? (long - sorry)

NVA

Jun 9, 2003
Visit site
Hi

I started riding a year and a half ago aged 30 and have been a slow learner. My main problem has been trot-canter transitions as I was scared of the idea of canter. I've had a variety of teachers as it has been difficult to get the same one regularly, and it got to the stage where I was fine on a couple of horses but terrible on any other.
Recently I found a fantastic teacher. My confidence improved, and I have ridden horses that have previously reduced me to tears of frustration (including one that threw me earlier in the year) and it has gone like a dream. Every week I felt like I'd made a breakthrough, and even started jumping.
Anyway, fantastic teacher is leaving and I can't get another instructor at that stables for a while. I've been going to another stables as well, but a lot of instructors have just left there as well. On Sunday I had a new instructor there who I just didn't take to. I was riding a horse who I know to be completely stubborn - the last time I rode her the instructor gave me his spurs in order to get her moving, and she was like a different horse. I've never used spurs before, haven't been riding long enough to use them and it wasn't my suggestion - but I made the mistake of mentioning it to the new instructor. She went on about it all lesson (how can you think you should be using spurs etc) and took great pains to tell me how much I was doing wrong. When she asked what I did in my last lesson (unsuccessfully trying flying changes and successfully managing my first straight bar rather than a cross pole - even if it was only about a foot off the ground) I am sure that she thought I was lying.