Advice?, Rant? I dont know lol

Kumagorou

Apr 9, 2022
Hi, this is my first time posting here, trying to find some online support groups because I just feel lost.
I have been riding for 7 years now and I feel like every step I take forward I take a billion back now.
- when I started riding I took English lessons everything was going great (or so I thought) but then the barn I was riding at had abit of a mess and lessons stopped there, I managed to find a barn close to my house where I now lease a horse, I love the barn I'm at now and everyone is supper friendly and helpful, but everyone rides endurance and as I have taken lessons there and have improved my riding alot in the process of that I have lost my seat/legs :(.
I ride in an all pourpose thurogood saddle, I find my saddle very comfortable and feel great riding at a walk in it, also in a Trott but I feel like my lower leg could be steadier my leg also feels short dispite the stirup length being slightly longer then the recomended ankle bone length (have tried the stirups shorter and longer already, lengthening them my leg feels good but i end up reaching for them so my heals dont stay down or i am loosing them). The problem is that I just can't for the life of me get my leg back as it should I keep being told my leg is too far forward and it must be true because I'm very unbalanced in 2 point. My new instructor has been getting me to ride in her endurance saddle which is nice I feel supper balanced in 2 point and my leg position feels great but I seem to struggle with the posting Trott not sure if maybe the stirrups are too long? I'm told my leg position looks way better in this saddle and it's nice to not always be told your legs too far forward, but I'm struggling in other ways with the switch, this saddle is also used by another rider so I feel bad if I play around with the stirrups as I tend to forget to put them back :(.