Advice on feeding my horse

mountainmama

Mar 29, 2009
Hi,

I have a 15 year old appaloosa that I bought in December. As soon as I bought him I started him on horsemans edge sweet feed. He gets one scoop a day. I also have added beet pulp shreds and he is up to one scoop mixed in with his grain. When I bought him he was just on pasture. I want to ride him atleast once a week maybe 2 for an hour or 2 working on mostly trotting and a little cantering until I get better, I am a beginner. He is still a little underweight, you can see his ribs. My question is, should I switch him to equine senior instead of the horsemans edge or should I keep him on the horsemans edge but feed him twice a day? Since I am a beginner I do not want him to have too much energy that I cannot handle him but I want him to look better. What do you guys think? Also, what is the difference between feeding horses whole oats than a sweet feed? A friend feeds her horses oats and I just was wondering what that is for?

I also have a 15 year old quarter horse who I just bought 2 weeks ago and she used to be on a scoop of horsemans edge 2 times a day. She is fat so I reduced her right now to nothing because she has alot of energy. My question about her is should I give her maybe a half a scoop a day or what do you think? I want to ride her once a week.